

# Minutes of the Board of Directors Annual Meeting October 5, 2023 Noon

<u>Present:</u> David Barrett, *Chair*, Rick Costello, *Treasurer* (virtual), Melvyn Colon, Andréa Comer (virtual), Greg Davis, Andrew Diaz-Matos, Carlos Galdamez (virtual), Floyd Green (virtual), Suzanne Hopgood, Sara Lashetski, Sarah Needham, Dan O'Shea, Mark Overmyer-Velazquez, Phyllis Shikora (virtual), and Tyrone Walker.

Also Present: Bridget E. Quinn, President and CEO; Gwen Cannon, Human Resources Director; Leticia Cotto, Customer Experience Officer; Marie Jarry, Public Services Director; Brenda Miller, Executive Director, Culture & Communications; Mary Tzambazakis, Chief Administrative Officer and General Counsel, and Andrea Figueroa, Senior Executive Assistant.

# 1. Call to Order

Chair David Barrett called the meeting to order at 12:10PM.

# 2. President and CEO's Annual Report

Ms. Bridget Quinn briefly reported on the service interruption that has happened since the flood of the Downtown Library. She gave a quick preview on the annual report that will be made available at the October 19 Ambassador's meeting.

## 3. Board Chair's Annual Report

Mr. David Barrett talked about a silver lining. The expansion of the hours and programming at the branches and when the Downtown Library launches, there will be a 250<sup>th</sup> celebration.

## 4. New Business

Ms. Suzanne Hopgood presented the following Board of Directors for re-election for a 4-year term:

- Rick Costello
- Floyd W. Green, III

**Board Action:** A motion was made by Suzanne Hopgood to approve the recommended board members to a 4-year term. Dan O'Shea seconded. Motion carried.

Ms. Suzanne Hopgood presented the following slate of Officers as recommended:

David Barrett, *Chair* Karen Taylor, *Vice Chair* Rick Costello, *Treasurer* Steve Harris, *Secretary* 

**Board Action:** A motion was made by Dan O'Shea to approve the recommended slate of officers. Andrew Diaz-Matos seconded. Motion carried. David Barrett abstained.

With no other business, Mr. David Barrett moved to adjourn the meeting; Suzanne Hopgood seconded. The annual meeting adjourned at 12:21PM.

Respectfully submitted, Bridget E. Quinn President and CEO