

Minutes of the Board of Directors Meeting October 6, 2022 8:00AM

<u>Present:</u> David Barrett, *chair*, Phyllis Shikora, *vice-chair*, Rick Costello, *treasurer*, Ana Alfaro, Melvyn Colon, Andréa Comer, Gregory Davis, Andrew Diaz-Matos, Floyd W. Green III, Suzanne Hopgood, Sara Lashetski, Daniel P. O'Shea, Mark Overmyer-Velazquez, Antonio Matta, Sarah Needham, and Karen Taylor.

Also Present: Bridget E. Quinn, president and CEO; Leticia Cotto, customer experience officer; Marie Jarry, director of Public Services; Homa Naficy, executive director, the American Place; Diana Smith, director of Human Services; Gilda Roncari, donor relations director; Mary Tzambazakis, Chief Administrative Office; Andrea Figueroa, executive assistant; Karl Fisher, finance director; Maureen Heher, and Martha-Rea Nelson.

1. Call to Order

Chair David Barrett called the meeting to order at 8:11 a.m.

Board Action: Motion was made to approve the consent agenda that included minutes of the August 4, 2022, Board of Directors meeting; minutes of the September 22, 2022, Governance Committee meeting; minutes of the September 29, 2022, Executive Committee meeting, and minutes of the September 30, 2022, Audit Committee meeting. The motion was moved by Suzanne Hopgood and seconded by Antonio Matta. The motion carried.

Mr. David Barrett and Mr. Dan O'Shea thanked Karl Fisher, Mary Tzambazakis and Bridget Quinn for a pristine audit this year.

Mr. Barrett asked Floyd Green to talk about Corporator engagement and the progress made with the corporators. Plans are to begin to mobilize them as an active group again and to engage them to eventually have a representative be part of the Board in the future. More work to be done with that. Mr. Green will be coming back to the full board with recommendations on how to get a youth representative. Ms. Gilda Roncari shared results of the survey findings that the name Ambassadors was the preferred new name for the Corporators.

2. Mission Moment

Ms. Bridget Quinn introduced Maureen Heher of the Hartford History Center to talk about the planning for HPL's 250th anniversary. Ms. Heher has put together a committee who are enthusiastic about this event with a kick-off in 2024.

Ana Alfaro and Karen Taylor are interested in attending future meetings in the planning of this event. Mark Overmyer-Velazquez is sending someone from UConn.

3. Committees and Task Force Reports

Barbour Street Task Force

Ms. Quinn shared updates on the Swift Factory project. There have been various plans with Community Solutions wanting to have Chase Bank be part of the building. Several months back, Chase decided not to honor their commitment, so HPL proceeded engaging with the architect to reclaim the space. A meeting is scheduled with Chase Representatives, Community Solutions and HPL to understand the situation of the pause in plans.

Board Action: Motion was made to empower the Barbour Street Task Force Committee working with Bridget Quinn and Mary Tzambazakis to make the decision that is in the best interest of the Library. The motion was moved by David Barrett. Seconded by Greg Davis. The motion carried.

4. New Business

Annual Corporators Meeting has been postponed.

Adoption of Corporators Class

The following people were nominated to the class 2026:

Aura Alvarado, Kathy Bromage, Jessica Dickens, Sharron Freeman, Marilda Gandara, Kate Martin, Tisa Rabun-Marshall, Katie Russo, Kim Schwartz, Bethany Sullivan, Rachel Taylor, Carla Ten Eyck, and Midge Tilney.

The following people are returning as class of 2026:

John Alves, Shelley Best, Jo Champlin Casey, Jennifer DiBella, Anne Melissa Dowling, Jerry Franklin, Sandra Fromson, Cate Grady-Benson, Constance Green, Barry Lastra, Duby McDowell, Thea Montanez, Leah Murchie, Margaret Patricelli, Brewster Perkins, Belle Ribicoff, Robert Smith, and Sharon Smith.

Board Action: Motion was made to adopt the class of 2026 as presented. The motion was moved by Mark Overmyer-Velazquez. Seconded by Phyllis Shikora. The motion carried.

Bylaws Name Change and Amendment

The suggested bylaw amendment, Article VI, Section 1, for the name change was sent to all board in advance.

Board Action: Motion was made to enter into executive session at 9:18AM. The motion was moved by Suzanne Hopgood. Seconded by Tony Matta. The motion carried.

5. Executive Session

With no other business, Mr. David Barrett moved to exit executive session and adjourn the meeting at 9:35AM; Suzanne Hopgood seconded.

Respectfully submitted, Bridget E. Quinn President and CEO